A Wannabe Historian’s Journey to an Instructional Design Career

I started this blog while pursuing a degree in History, not knowing what I wanted to do with the degree or even motivated to finish college. But earning a degree in History was important to me, so I returned to school and graduated in December 2020.

After graduation, I was at a loss for what to do next. I knew I couldn’t stay in my current job and deserved better, so I decided to pursue a career in teaching. It seemed like the logical choice for someone with a history degree. I enrolled in a teacher certification program and quickly realized it wasn’t for me.

During an interview, I was asked to create a lesson plan for middle school students. I had a blast using Canva to create something interactive and engaging, but the thought of teaching it to young kids filled me with dread. I realized that teaching wasn’t my passion.

That’s when I discovered instructional design. As an instructional designer, I can use my creativity and problem-solving skills to design effective learning experiences for various audiences. I can work with cutting-edge technology and learning theories to create educational materials that make a real difference in people’s lives by helping them acquire new knowledge and skills.

The demand for online learning is only increasing, so the field of instructional design is constantly growing and evolving. I’m excited to be a part of it and am pursuing a Master’s degree in Instructional Design, which I’ll graduate in the spring of 2024.

Though I won’t talk about ID much here (I can’t find a way to make it relate to AI ART and short stories), I will do an update once in and while.

Thanks for reading!

(Ai-generated ART)

Leave a comment